North Carolina organizes misdemeanors into four categories in descending order of severity: Class A1, Class 1, Class 2, and Class 3.
What Crimes Constitute a Class 2 Misdemeanor?
Simple assault, disorderly conduct, reckless driving, and unlawfully carrying a concealed weapon may all result in a Class 2 misdemeanor charge.
What Penalties Will I Face?
You could face three different types of penalties if you are convicted of a misdemeanor:
- Active punishment: This involves a jail sentence in a local confinement facility.
- Intermediate punishment: You may face this if a judge sentences you to probation. This may involve electronic monitoring, treatment programs, and possibly a temporary jail sentence.
- Community punishment: This does not involve imprisonment and involves a fine, probation, or community service.
North Carolina sentencing is based on a set range for a crime’s classification and prior conviction levels (in other words, your criminal history). A judge will apply a Level I sentence if you have no prior convictions and a Level III if you have five or more. A judge will then evaluate your misdemeanor classification in setting a sentence. The sentence for a Class 2 misdemeanor is one to 60 days of active, intermediate, or community punishment. The maximum penalty is 60 days in jail and a $1,000 fine.
Seeking High-Quality Legal Representation
Even if you believe you are guilty as charged, seek the help of an experienced criminal defense attorney. You may have defenses available to you that will reduce your sentence. An attorney can help you identify those defenses and use them to help you fight your charges.
If you’ve been charged with a Class 2 misdemeanor in North Carolina, contact Jeremy Cotten. An experienced criminal defense attorney, he has served hundreds of clients through Wake, Johnston, Harnett, Orange, Sampson, Lee, and Chatham Counties and is ready to meet with you to discuss your case. Give him a call or head to the main page to speak with a legal assistant 24 hours a day.