Fighting License Suspensions In Raleigh, Fuquay-Varina & Beyond
Losing your license can be mildly inconvenient at best and life-burdensome at worst: If you rely on your vehicle to travel to work, get your kids to school, or otherwise manage your day-to-day tasks, a license suspension or revocation can seriously disrupt your life.
A license suspension becomes a part of your permanent driving record, which can affect factors like your insurance premiums, employment opportunities, and the results of any background checks. As such, it’s worth investigating ways to reinstate your license as soon as possible: even if some of the stain of the suspension remains on your record, you can at least eliminate some of the inconvenience involved in losing your driving privileges.
The Reinstatement Process
If your license was suspended by the DMV, you’ll receive a written notice spelling out the terms of your suspension (or revocation) as well as the reason for your suspension. You will also receive instructions on how to have your license reinstated. Some of these steps include:
- Paying a “restoration fee”
- Applying for a new license (This may involve repeating your driving test.)
If a court or other agency suspended your license, you will need to meet additional requirements. These will generally be imposed by the party or agency that suspended your driving privileges.
Appealing Your Suspension
In some cases, once you receive a DMV notification that your license has been suspended or revoked, you can request an administrative hearing for reinstatement. If you request a hearing, you will generally be able to retain your license and your driving privileges until the hearing date. You may also be able to appeal any administrative decision to the Superior Court within 30 days.
There are several steps you need to take to reinstate your license once your suspension period is over.
- First, head to the closest North Carolina DMV office.
- Next, you will need to pay restoration fees. Restoration is generally $65 unless your restoration follows a DMV conviction, in which case you will pay $130. There are also service fees of $50 unless you surrendered your license to the DMV before the effective date of your suspension.
- Finally, depending on the reason for your suspension or revocation, you may need to apply for a new driver’s license.
Common Questions About License Suspension
The thought of losing your license can easily send you into a panic. The complications that can bring to your life are many. Below are answers to some of the most common questions our attorneys hear.
What are the common reasons a driver’s license is suspended in North Carolina?
There are numerous reasons that you can face a driver’s license suspension, including:
- A drunk driving arrest or conviction
- Refusing to submit to chemical testing for intoxication
- Excessive speeding or reckless driving
- Insurance violations
- Failure to appear in court or pay fines
- Failure to pay child support
- Failing to stop for a school bus
- Failing to stop after an accident
In addition, multiple traffic infractions or accidents can cause you to accumulate “points” on your license. Accumulate too many, and your license may be suspended.
What are the penalties for driving with a suspended license in North Carolina?
Regardless of the reason for your suspension, Driving While License Revoked (DWLR) is a serious offense in its own right. You can be convicted of a misdemeanor and face:
- Up to 120 days in jail
- Fines and court costs
- Eight points on your license
- An additional term of suspension for your license (one year for a first offense, two for a second offense and a lifetime ban for a third offense)
Under North Carolina’s Safe Driver Incentive Plan, your auto insurance will also increase by 200% for three years.
How does the accumulation of points lead to driver’s license suspension?
Traffic infractions add a predetermined number of “points” to your license. If you accumulate 12 points within a three-year period (or 8 points within three years following the reinstatement of your license), your license can be suspended.
How long can my driver’s license be suspended in North Carolina?
It depends entirely on the reason for the suspension in the first place. If you refuse to submit to a blood alcohol test, for example, your license may be revoked for a year. If you accumulated too many points on your license, your first suspension may only be 60 days.
How do I get my license reinstated in North Carolina?
It depends upon the reason your license was suspended. A consultation with an experienced lawyer can help you understand the proper steps.
Need Assistance? Call Us.
If you’ve been charged with a crime that’s led to license suspension or revocation, give Cotten Law Firm a call to discuss your options. Our offices serve clients in central North Carolina including Wake, Johnston, Harnett, Orange, Sampson, Lee and Chatham counties, and Jeremy has represented tens of thousands of clients charged with offenses such as yours. Give our office a call at 984-600-3090 or click over to our main page to chat live with an assistant 24 hours a day.