Aggressively defending your rights at some of the most reasonable rates around.
  1. Home
  2.  — 
  3. Criminal Defense
  4.  — 
  5. Traffic Tickets
  6.  — Driving While License Revoked (DWLR)

North Carolina’s Subclasses for DWLR

Having a valid driver’s license is almost a necessity in this day and age. In North Carolina, all drivers must have a valid driver’s license with them while driving at all times. Driving while license revoked (DWLR) is a misdemeanor offense, which, if you are convicted, will result in a criminal record. You could even face jail time or lose your driver’s license for an additional, and often lengthy, amount of time.

Prior to December 1, 2013, all DWLR charges were classified as class 1 misdemeanors which result in further suspension of your driver’s license, among other consequences.

North Carolina law now recognizes two separate categories under DWLR– “DWLR Not Impaired” (a class 3 misdemeanor), which is a charge when your license revocation was not the result of impaired driving. After December 2013, if you your license was revoked for impaired driving (such as a DWI), you may be charged with “DWLR Impaired Revocation” (a class 1 misdemeanor).

DWLR Not Impaired

If you are convicted of DWLR Not Impaired (class 3 misdemeanor) you no longer face further revocation time. Convictions result in nasty insurance consequences and count on your permanent criminal record. However, in most counties, these charges can be negotiated down to avoid insurance ramifications, or even dismissed.

DWLR Impaired Revocation

DWLR Impaired Revocation is classified as a class 1 misdemeanor and results in an additional suspension of 1 year for a first offense. In addition, and depending upon the county and judge presiding over your case, you could face up to 120 days in jail.

You can also be ordered to undergo continuous alcohol monitoring (CAMS) or to abstain from alcohol completely. DWLR Impaired Revocation is a much more significant offense than DWLR Not Impaired.

Skilled Legal Representation for Traffic Violations

If you find yourself charged with Driving While License Revoked, it is imperative you speak with a Raleigh traffic attorney immediately to discuss your options for favorably resolving your case, as well as the circumstances involved in reinstating your driver’s license.

Give us a call anytime at 984-600-3090 or contact us online to discuss your options.