Underage Drinking & Drug Lawyer in Raleigh, NC
Defending Juveniles Who Are Facing Drinking & Drug Charges in North Carolina
Though underage drinking, underage alcohol possession, and some drug crime charges are considered to be misdemeanors, do not make the mistake of thinking that they are inconsequential.
A conviction of any of these charges in North Carolina can result in penalties that may follow a young person for the rest of their adult lives. There are ways to mitigate these charges, however, and with the help of our highly skilled Raleigh underage drinking lawyer, you can work to lessen the impact.
Contact Cotten Law Firm today to learn more about the options that may be available to you in your case. Our underage drinking & drug charges attorneys in Raleigh are dedicated to providing attentive, one-on-one service to help our clients understand their situation and achieve their goals. We serve clients throughout Wake County.
Underage Drinking Consequences in North Carolina
People ages 12 through 20 years old are responsible for consuming 11% of the alcohol in the United States. Underage drinking is illegal in the state of North Carolina — regardless of whether the teen has their parent’s permission. In North Carolina, driving under the influence is not tolerated.
Therefore, teens who are caught driving after consuming alcohol can be charged with a DWI and underage consumption. It is also common for underage drinkers to be charged for using false identification.
Teens and their parents may not know whom to call for help, but it’s best to work with an experienced underage drinking attorney in Raleigh, NC. Those who don’t often have poor outcomes and struggle later when applying for schools and jobs due to their criminal record.
What Happens If You Get Caught With Alcohol Under 21 in NC?
In North Carolina, a person under the age of 21 caught purchasing, attempting to purchase, or possessing alcohol will be charged with a Class 1 misdemeanor. Sentencing is left to the judge's discretion. The North Carolina Division of Motor Vehicles will revoke that juvenile's driver's license if convicted.
- For the first offense, a person convicted of selling or providing alcohol to someone under the age of 21 must pay a $250 fine plus $100 in court costs and do 25 hours of community service.
You may be aware of first-time offender programs which may allow for certain drug crime charges to be dismissed. While there are many circumstances in which this can be an excellent option, it is important to remember that this is not best for every single case.
Contact Our Underage Drinking & Drug Charge Attorney in Raleigh Today
This option is a one-time-only opportunity, and if you have a legitimate legal case to defend yourself against the charge, that may be worth pursuing. If you or your child has been charged with underage drinking or drug use, contact the Raleigh juvenile crime lawyer at Cotten Law Firm, PLLC.
Reach out to our Raleigh underage drinking & drug charges attorney today at (919) 587-8544 to schedule your free consultation. There, we can determine what course of action would be most effective in furthering your legal goals.
Gaining Trust One Client at a TimeRead What Our Past Clients Had to Say
“Great firm to deal with and Jeremy contacted me with results through email and text, had ticket reduced to equipment failure.”- Ron
“Jeremy is a good man to get the job done.”- Whitfield
“Jeremy and Ashley are beyond the best hands down!! Thank you!”- Traci