It is very easy to lose your license in North Carolina from a simple speeding ticket. If you have been charged with a misdemeanor speeding offense in North Carolina, you may be in for a nasty surprise from DMV.
A misdemeanor speeding charge in North Carolina is, generally speaking, a ticket that is greater than 15 miles per hour over the limit or any charge over 80 miles per hour. According to NCGS 20-16.1, if you are convicted of a speed greater than 15 mph over the limit while going faster than 55 mph OR any speed over 80 miles per hour, you are subject to a mandatory 30 day license revocation for a first conviction. Most drivers are eligible for a limited driving privilege (LDP) on the first conviction. You would be suspended for progressively longer amounts of time for subsequent convictions and the ability to get a privilege disappears.
Think about that, if you are ticketed and convicted of going only 81 mph in a 70 mph zone, you WILL lose your license in North Carolina. This certainly applies to portions of I-540 around Wake County as well as I-40 and I-95 through Johnston, Harnett, Sampson and Orange Counties. There are also nasty insurance surprises around the corner with any of these convictions.
If you have received a speeding ticket, it is important that you contact an experienced traffic lawyer to discuss your options. Attorney Cotten would be glad to discuss potential strategies and options with you free of charge. There will be ways to reduce the severity of the violation in order to save your license as well as keep your court costs, fines and insurance to a minimum. In the event that a license revocation is unavoidable or has already occurred, we can discuss the possible ways to obtain a limited driving privilege.
Cotten Law is a passionate and low-cost firm defense firm that will provide aggressive representation if you have been charged with a speeding ticket. Our firm has represented over 20,000 clients charged with offenses such as yours and has hundreds of reviews from satisfied clients. Give our office a call or visit our website to chat live with an assistant 24 hours a day. Our office serves clients in central North Carolina including Wake, Johnston, Harnett, Orange, Sampson, Lee, and Chatham Counties.
Contact a Wake County traffic ticket defense lawyerfor compassionate, aggressive and AFFORDABLE legal representation if you have been charged with a speeding violation.